No gym workouts

No Gym: No time workouts

With so much to do and so little time, sometimes working out is the last thing we think about doing before we lay down at night. It usually finds little priority on the majority of to do lists. So, I challenge you. On the list of things to do, where does brushing your teeth fall into the mix? Silly question, huh? Yet, it is a pertinent one. Are our teeth more important than our heart and lungs? I know it doesn’t take that much time to brush our teeth. I’m simply making a point. I have found getting in my workout time to be more difficult than it should be. So, I started to improvise. This is the most informal workout ever. I promise. My 30 minute circuit is never the same. My goal is simply to get my cardio in as quickly and efficiently as possible.

This is where i workout.

This is where I workout. It isn’t dirty.  It’s the thick fibers. IJS

There are days when the maximum amount of time I can dedicate to a workout is 30 min. Time really is money, and it is something you can never get back. By cutting out the drive to the gym, 20 min, plus the wasted wait time during peak hours, I am able to still squeeze in 30 min if I workout at home.  Please note, the following workout is meant for those conditioned to run at least 30 consecutive minutes and familiar with the proper form of these exercises. You can also checkout youtube videos, benderfitness , and bodyrocktv for more ideas. I’m an amateur.

EQUIPMENT

You

Timer/Clock

Space

Music

Water

Towel

 

OPTIONAL EQUIPMENT:

Gliders

Weights

Kettle Bell

Resistance bands

Ankle/wrist weights

Jump rope

Chair

Exercise mat

Foam roller

Pre/post workout hydration

 

Getting started

 

15 min before consume some form of caffeine.

Set iPhone alarm to 30 min.

Favorite playlist (usually Merengue is playing. Luckily, I have an aux cord plugged into our surround sound system to help get me pumped. It also rings through the alarm and phone calls too. Multitasking is a beast!

Technology is grand.

Technology is grand.

GO!

To add to my workout, I can see my reflection in the flat screen. I am my biggest competitor!

I have a few odds and end pieces of equipment that I use too, but those are luxury, not necessity.  The other day I misplaced my gliders and used paper plates instead.

 

Worked like magic!

Worked like magic!

My latest circuit

Alternating Cherry Pickers

Pike-gliders

Mountain climbers-gliders

15 Bilateral Reverse lunges-gliders

5 burpees

Hall slide-gliders

Repeat until the clock buzzes.

You should be pouring sweat.

 

Some other simple tips I practice:

  • Park and walk-take the first parking spot you see. It will save time and increase your daily activity too.
  • Stairs instead of elevator-don’t waste time waiting for the elevator. The quick activity burst will also boost energy too.
  • Stand instead of sit
  • Rise and workout-this is especially beneficial for single parents, hotels, those with small children, and when visiting friends/family.
  • Make it social-free yoga in the park with the girls is always fun.
  • If you don’t buy it, you won’t eat it-don’t buy junk food. Less access means less temptation.
  • Keep healthy snacks on you at all times. I always have whole, raw almonds in my car and a protein bar in my purse.
  • Prepare ahead-preparing lean meat ahead, 2-3 days, helps to quickly prepare meals.
  • Drink a bottle of water, 16.9 oz., upon rising and resting. This will help you get your hydration in easier.
  • Sleep 7-9 hours per night. (Who has time for that right? Sleep is where you recover. You are no good to anyone if you are always running at 50%)
  • Buy groceries only in the perimeter of the store.
  • Sip ice water all day. The body has to work harder to warm the ice to body temperature, which increases metabolism.
  • Do calf and leg raises while brushing teeth, cooking, and washing dishes.
  • Buy as much in bulk to save costs and trips to the store.
  • Don’t drink your calories.
  • Reward yourself-Put one dollar in a jar every time you work out.  Then buy yourself something pretty.

 

I am not a fitness competitor or trainer. I just want to be healthy. I won’t bore you with scientific data of why it is important. There is enough out there already. Do it for yourself. Do it for your spouse. Do it for your children. Just do it!

 

Euphoria

Euphoria!

Leave a Reply

Lets talk

Regina Ontiveroz

Living everyday like it's my last!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 703 other followers

Dessiree Thompson

Helping Network Marketers Build a Team Through Relationship Marketing Using Online & Offline Strategies and Building a Personal Brand to Grow Their Business

Trend-mixblog

Bridging the gap between the Fashion world and the DIY world.

poolpillowtowel

It's a towel with a pillow

The Strategic Employer

Attract, Select and Retain for Profitability and Competitive Advantage

Jermaine24's Blog

Sports Talk Uncut

4thprayerwatch

Just another WordPress.com site

Blogging by Psychic Medium Anna Simon

Internationally Reconized Psychic Medium Anna Simon Daily Teachings and more.

MamaAllengirl's Blog

A Spiritual Spa for SisterGirls and Single Moms

